Weirdest Things (Blog Meme)

This blog’s first ever blog meme has arrived! It’s called the Weirdest Things blog meme and I was tagged in it by Nevillegirl over at Musings From Neville’s Navel. Thank you, Nevillegirl!

Rules

1. If you are tagged, answer the questions in the meme in a blog post on your blog.
2. Make sure at the beginning of your post you put a link to the blog of the person who tagged you.
3. Tag at least three people to do the same thing (you can tag more than three people if you would like).
4. Have fun!

Questions

What do you think the weirdest color is? Probably black, because no-one can ever agree if it’s a colour or not. It’s kind of like white in that respect, but I think black has its colour status challenged more often because it’s the colour of dark, not light – unlike white – and we need light to see. It’s a pretty damn awkward colour to have as a favourite, though, I tell you. Conversations with a person whose favourite colour is black tend to go like this:

(We’ll say Whitman likes white and Blake likes black)

Whitman: Yo, Blake, my main man. What’s your favourite colour, dude?

Blake: Black.

Whitman: Bro! Black ain’t no colour.

Blake: It is.

Whitman: No, dude, black is the colour of nothingness.

Blake: You just called it a colour.

Whitman: Nothingness can’t have a colour, bro.

Blake: You just said it did.

Whitman: Shut up, man.

Or something like that. It could go on for longer and Blake could say something like “How about I make your face black?” and it would all descend into fighting. Not black like the dark skin colour, by the way. This isn’t a racial slur or anything. I mean like when you get bruises on your face, and they go black? Still, I find it weird when people say their favourite colour is black because “it goes with everything”. Dude, that’s not how you’re supposed to pick a favourite colour. There are rules for these things, you know.

What is the weirdest TV show/movie you have ever seen? I once saw a bit of a TV programme called Wilfred, which is basically about this guy who gets followed around by this dog, except that the guy sees the dog as a man in a dog suit whilst everyone else sees him as a dog. It’s really strange. Plus Frodo – I mean Elijah Wood – plays the aforementioned guy, so that makes it even weirder to watch. It was actually funny at a few points, if rather crass.

What is the weirdest food you have ever tried? When I was younger (not that much younger, mind you) I made a habit of dipping French cheese flavour crisps in the strawberry jam that fell out of my sandwich. Try it; it’s delicious.

What is the weirdest drink you have ever tried? Once I asked for carrot juice at a restaurant, thinking it would be the usual, fresh from the carton stuff. Turns out, the staff actually blended raw carrots and poured them into a glass for me to drink. I had to gulp down an entire glass full of mushed-up carrots – not fun, although you get a really “Oh yeah, I’m so healthy” feeling after you’ve had it.

Who is your weirdest friend? I’m not going to name names, but I do have a particular friend that carries a clove of garlic around in her handbag all the time. You know who you are.

What is the weirdest thing you have ever seen on the internet? I’m going to take a leaf out of Nevillegirl’s book of linking to inappropriate things on the internet and say probably this video by danisnotonfire. To tell the truth, a lot of Dan’s videos are weird, but this one really takes the cake. In summary, Dan and his friend Phil use an internet dating app to talk and send pictures to random, date-wanting (to put it mildly) people in their area – except they pretend to be a wooden guinea pig. I know, I know. It’s hilarious, but I have to warn you: the video contains strong language and pretty inappropriate humour, so watch at your own risk.

What is the weirdest thing your pet has ever done? I’ve never really had a pet, except for my old pet caterpillar, Wiggles. I don’t really know what else to say………….um, he used to be really picky about his food and would only eat leaves from particular plants in the garden? Well done, Mary, you’re being really weird now.

What is the weirdest book you have ever read? On the more negative side of weirdness, I’ll say The Men Who Stare at Goats by Jon Ronson. It’s predominantly about the application of New Age concepts in the U.S. Army, but gets really weird, really fast. I got about halfway through and had to stop, because I found some of the stories in there too disturbing to read. That’s one of the few books I can remember deliberately stopping partway through.

What is the weirdest blog you follow? I have to say Musings From Neville’s Navel, not because its author tagged me in this meme, but because that is seriously one of the weirdest blogs I have the pleasure of following. This is the girl who talks about stuff like how strawberries are named George and who named her blog after a small purple creature of indeterminate species. It’s awesome. Go check it out.

Three Weird Bloggers Whom I’ll Tag

This entry was posted in Bloggy Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weirdest Things (Blog Meme)

    • Mary says:

      Aloha! Thank you very much :-) I will probably write a blog post accepting it sometimes soon, but as usual it will probably take me a while to find people to nominate!

Leave a Reply

