I Could Write A Book

Or, to put it more accurately, I hope I can write a book. It would be pretty great if I can, as this November I am taking part in National Novel Writing Month – A.K.A. NaNoWriMo. I’m sure there are plenty of other writers in the blogosphere who have heard of and/or are taking part in this, but for those of you who haven’t got a clue what I’m going on about, NaNoWriMo is an annual event that takes place every November, in which writers (new or old, experienced or newbie, human or alien) from around the world attempt to write a 50,000-word novel each in a month. The main point of it seems to be just to get those words down on paper, whilst exercising your creativity, imagination, and sheer willpower – rather than creating a complete masterpiece. After all, many authors take a year or more to write a novel, so 50,000 words in a month sounds pretty daunting, right? Well, it is.

I decided to take part in this year’s NaNoWriMo after I made my blog public and starting engaging more actively in the blogging community. The word “NaNoWriMo” kept cropping up again and again, so I decided to look into it. Once I found out about it, I deliberated for some time (“Will I be able to stay on track with my work?”, “Will I have enough time?”, “Can I even manage to do this?) before eventually coming to the conclusion that I would take part in it regardless of all the reasons I shouldn’t, of which there were many. And I’m still freaking out about it. I mean, 50,000 words in a month? Who does that? And how do so many people actually manage to do it without becoming complete and total recluses and losing all semblance of lives outside of writing? (It is my impression that people succeed in doing this, although I could be wrong.)

You’ve probably noticed by now that this blog post is quite ramble-y, even more so than usual. That’s because I’m both incredibly excited and fantastically concerned about my decision to do this. That said, I think it will be a great experience. Fiction writing is by far my favourite type of writing, but I always end up spending more time doing non-fiction writing. Between my blog and schoolwork, I hardly have any writing time left to spend on story writing, and that time which I do have I spend on writing only short stories or snippets of fiction. But like most fiction writers, I’ve long wanted to write a complete novel. So I’m hoping, with the help of NaNoWriMo, I will finally get to do so next month.

Now, I think it’s about time I wrote a little about the book I’m writing. As per the NaNoWriMo rules, I’m not actually allowed to write any of the proper novel until the start of November. However, I have been preparing (as many people do) by coming up with character names, writing bios, creating descriptions of scenes or settings, and drafting up a rough outline of the story’s plot. I don’t want to give too much away here (mainly because a good portion of the info will be subject to change), but I will say that the plot of the story revolves around a group of kids with characteristics of various mythological creatures. There’s a vampire, a werewolf, a witch, and siren, to name a few. It is going to be fantasy, although it’s set in the real world. I believe that makes it low fantasy – you should probably ask someone who knows more about genre classifications than I do. It’s set in the UK (probably Scotland), as that’s where I’m from and spent much of my life up until now. It’s been a bit of an issue trying to put it into a genre, as NaNoWriMo only lets you pick one for a novel, and I can’t figure out if I should class the novel as being fantasy or young adult/youth. They do let you change it when you want, though, so it’s not a big deal.

That’s pretty much all I have to say about NaNoWriMo for now, although I might be posting updates on my progress with it later. I would put up more info about what the whole event is like and about, but I feel less than qualified to do so, what with my complete lack of experience in this area. Anyway, I’m hoping that this whole experience will be a positive one, and I will be victorious in creating something resembling a 50,000 word novel in a month. Wish me luck!

If you’re a NaNo-er (is that the right term? I feel perhaps not) reading this, feel free to comment and let me know. Is this going to be your first NaNoWriMo? Or are you a seasoned veteran of this event? Do you feel enthusiastic about this, or are you frightened out of your mind? I’d love to hear from other people taking part in this adventure, particularly as it makes it feel like less of an entirely crazy thing to do!

This entry was posted in Real-Life Related and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Could Write A Book

  1. DBP says:

    I think it’s great that you’re writing a book. Good luck, and I look forward to seeing updates in the future =)

  2. SeattleRobin says:

    The success rate (defined by getting to 50K words, not necessarily finishing a novel) is usually around 18-23%. So yes, lots of people manage it. But that also means people shouldn’t feel bad if they try and don’t make it. They have a lot of company!

    If it makes you feel any better, I’ve done NaNo a few times now, and amidst the excitement generated by me and others getting hyped for the event, I still suffer from a sense of impending doom also. It’s not easy, it can sometimes be agonizing, but it is doable, and it can be exhilarating.

    • Mary says:

      Thanks for the encouragement and for commenting :-) That is a pretty high success rate, although it’s nice to know that there are actually other people who do it anyway, even if they don’t manage to “win” it. Haha I think a “sense of impending doom” is a good way of putting it! It’s great to meet a fellow participant, too.

  3. nevillegirl says:

    Hello there, fellow NaNoer! This be my second year participating!

  4. Traci B says:

    Glad to see another blogging Wrimo (the term I’ve seen used most often) gearing up for November’s insanity. Best wishes for a win. :)

  5. Pingback: Making Plans | Ocean Owl

  6. I like that you referenced a jazz song in the title. I also think it’s an awesome idea to try and do something like that. I’ve always loved writing, but for some reason life has taken me in the direction of writing MUSIC instead of words. Blogging is my ‘guilty pleasure.’ I hope you can do it, and I hope it’s available to read when you DO finish.
    Also, thanks for checking out my blog! :)

    • Mary says:

      Thank you :-) Good job on noticing the song reference. I actually name all my blog posts after song titles, although sometimes this requires a little “artistic licence”. I’m not sure about my novel being available to read when I’m finished with it, as I suffer from a crippling fear of actually showing anyone my non-blog writing. We’ll have to see, though. Your blog is lovely – I think you can tell you love writing from reading it :-)

Leave a Reply

